Naples Council
World Affairs
Our mission is to educate, inspire and engage our community in international affairs and critical global issues

2021 MUN

Updates coming

2020 MUN


Model UN 2020 Excels Once Again

We always say our most recent Model UN (MUN) was the best yet. And it was!  Thanks to Chair Ed Leland’s inspiring leadership and a multitude of NCWA members donating their time and money, we continue to be, according to the school coaches, one of the best competitions they attend. We were told this year that ours is better organized than any other competition, including those at the Ivies. We know that is because we have the devoted services of Beth Foss showing us the way every year. We expect 2021 to be the most challenging yet as we navigate our way through the likelihood of a virtual MUN.


Left: Ed Leland, MUN Chair with SWFLMUN President Andrea Bodega

Right: Barbara Jean Stephenson, American Diplomat and Guest Speaker SWFLMUN 2020

We were fortunate to Jim Schmotter and his team of readers plowing through nearly 200 position papers to whittle them down to the top six. As he has now assumed the presidency of NCWA, Paula Himowitz has graciously agreed to take over as Chair of the MUN Position Papers for 2021. Fortunately, we continue to have Greg Hudson providing the 1stprize of $1000, and Janet Markel providing the 2ndprize of $500 in her daughter Barbara’s memory followed by some very generous cash awards provided by NCWA. The work the NCWA member readers do takes a great deal of time, and we are most grateful for their dedication, year after year. 

Nancy Wallace is continuing in her role recruiting and training all the wonderful folks that pitch in as registrars and greeters to the annual MUN conference. We send a big thank you to Nancy and all of her assistants, many of whom return to help us serve lunch each day. 

We are in debt to so many of our members provide scholarships to the top students, year after year. 

They include a $3000 donation from Iqbal and Shelby Mamdani for two $1500 scholarships, Robert King $3000, Maureen O’Gorman $2500 in memory of her husband Thomas, Ron and Marianne Gymer $2500, Gregor Zore & Edith Hunt $2500 andDavid and Beverly Worthington contributed a $2000 scholarship.


Marianne and Ron Gymer presenting their $2500 scholarship to Elizabet Ortiz 

Dick Clemens began the Ralph J. Bunch Scholarship 4 years ago with a $2000 contribution. It has grown each year and this past year we were thrilled to have our top prize, the Ralph J. Bunch Award reach $5500. Those contributing included Dick & Judith Clemens $2000,  Susan & Art Bookbinder $500, Karen & Ed Leland $300, Mo & Mickey Winograd $300,  Peter & Mary Beth Borre $ 250, James & Joanne Huskey $200,  Michael & Janet Johnson $200,  Marvin & Helaine Lender $200, Bonnie & Dennis Parass $200, Steve & Carol Vesce $200, Dick & LuAnn Zounes $200, Alan & Julie Van Egmond $150,  Donna Carty & Alan Buchholz  $100, Dr. Benjamin Glick $100, Bruce & Roberta Hobbs $100, Patrick Mattingly & Jill Force $100,  Elinor McClaren $100, William Pope & Julie Klement $100, Michael & Susan Smith $100 and Chuck Theisen $100.

Dick Clemens, founder of the Ralph Bunche Award , this year top MUN award totaling $5500 to Jenia Browne

The George Gotschall Memorial Fund provide a $1500 scholarship and the Frank Steere Fund a $1500 one. And we cannot forget the Kapnick Family Foundation that donated $5000 each year to offset our expenses. A list of all the awards presented can be found at

We had our usual Special Contest this year which allows schools who are registered to compete for a cash prize for their Model UN Club. This is a collaborative effort teaching young people how we can work together on world problems. We present the problem (this years was how do we eliminate Child Soldiers) and NCWA awards cash prizes to the the school MUN clubs coming up with the best solution. This year we had 6 high schools compete and 3 of the submission were so well done, we awarded 3 first prizes of $500 each. 

Nancy and Howard Cohen presenting the $500 cash award for the Special Contest on Child Soldiers to Port Charlotte High School. 

Child Soldiers Special Competition   

1st place: $500 - Port Charlotte High School    (Funded by Howard and Nancy Cohen)

1st place: $500 - Lely High School                    (Funded by Howard and Nancy Cohen)

1st place: $500 - Gulf Coast High School         (Funded by Mickey and Mo Winograd)

2nd place: $350 - Cypress Lake High School   (Funded by Mickey and Mo Winograd)

3rd place: $200 - Cape Coral High School       (Funded by Pat and Leonie Cacho)      

Honorable Mention: $100 - Palmetto Ridge High School    (Funded by Alan and Julie Van Egmond)

We also applaud our fabulous crew of judges. (pictured below) It is these experienced and sophisticated individuals that make the NCWA Model UN stand apart. Student delegates tell us they really step up their game because they want to impress our judges. This photo gives a sense of the intensity of both effort and joy that the competition engenders.  

Thanks again to everyone who made this the best Model UN ever! 

Mo Winograd, Co-Vice Chair, MUN

Naples Council on World Affairs
2316 Pine Ridge Road #361, Naples, Florida 34109-2006
Contact Email: | Phone: 239-649-3942

Privacy Policy
© 2007 - 2018 NCWA. All rights reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software